Snapshot.

So…here’s the scoop:

About nine months ago, I had the bright idea to start a blog chronicling my literary adventures — with a little film media thrown in for fun. While the energy was there, the time certainly was not! My senior year of college was very much in the way. With classes, a job during first semester, and my honors thesis to complete in my final semester (and, let’s be real here, a lot of fun to be had to wrap up my farewell to Dear Old State), my WordPress account slipped down to the bottom of my bookmarks menu as my blogging ambitions were put on ice.

250 hours of food service, eight classes, twenty-five papers, two short stories (plus countless writing exercises), and one full-length, young adult fiction novel later, I finally have a little bit of free time on my hands. Plus, for the first time in years, I have the freedom to read what – ev – er I want to read without the gnawing teeth of guilt biting at my conscience for the fact that I should be reading something else for class! Imagine that! I’m living at home for a few weeks while I slowly and arduously gather myself together for a move to Maryland, where I’ll be starting a masters program at Johns Hopkins in June. In the meantime, it seems as good a time as ever to take advantage of this novel slump in my academic pursuits to revive the blogging bug that bit me last September, and to really get myself into the habit of reading and writing on a daily basis independently from anything required of me.

To end this mini-introduction, I thought it’d be fitting to wrap up with a quick snapshot of what I’m reading, watching, and writing right now…

Reading: At the urgings of my mother and sister, and with a good tip-off from my friend Greg, I just read the first book of Suzanne Collins’ series, The Hunger Games. It’s been a while since I revisited my Young Adult Fiction roots, and this was my first YA book since writing my own for my thesis. Definitely a solid choice! Devoured book one in a sleepless night, and have already downloaded the sequel to Kindle (couldn’t wait to run out to the store) and started in on part one. I have a lot of thoughts on this series, and YA in general, so stay tuned for some future musings when I finish the series.

Watching: Saw Bridesmaids last night with the family. Finally! I planned to attend an advanced screening a while back and got a bit sidetracked, so I was glad to catch this one at last. Absolutely hilarious. The chick who played Sookie in Gilmore Girls is shockingly different from her TV character in the best and raunchiest way, and the airplane scene alone is worth the price of admission. Whoever says girls can’t be funny needs to see this movie pronto.

Writing: I’m on a bit of a break following S’QUATCH, though I am kicking around an idea for a trilogy involving a concept I scribbled down randomly a few months back. It’s a somewhat more adult genre, which I think will be a refreshing break from the teen-drama-laced hijinks of my first novel. Mostly, though, I have some serious revisions to work on! S’QUATCH needs another run-through before I can consider shopping it around to publishers; and I have one short story in particular that I’ve been itching to revise since last fall (I’m planning a book of geographically-linked shorts for which I’m hoping this will serve as the centerpiece).

Stop back soon for some more exciting and expansive musing on these and other stories that are catching my attention. For now, welcome to Fabulaphilia, happy reading, and please feel free to drop a line.

Cheers, E.

About emilytoombs

Emily is a writer, a dreamer, a thinker, a reader, a talker, and hopefully someday a Real Person! But for now, she is a masters student at Johns Hopkins University. And yes, her life is awesome.

Posted on May 22, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve been hearing a lot about the Hunger Games trilogy. Maybe I should get a copy.

  2. I’ve made my way through the first two. The first was addicting. Not much happened during the second, but the setup for the third (and, I believe, final) book seems promising.

Leave a Reply

